Conflict in Namibia 1989-1990
In 1915, during the First World War, South-West Africa, a German colony, was occupied by South African forces of the
British Empire. It remained in occupation of the territory long
 after South Africa cut its last ties with Britain (1961).

Despite UN resolutions calling on the white South African government to withdraw from South West Africa and grant independence, they refused to do so.

A guerrilla war was launched against the South African
occupation by the South West African People`s Organisation (SWAPO) soon supported by Cuban troops from their bases in Angola to the North.

In 1988, SWAPO, South Africa, the United States and Cuba
agreed that South West Africa should become independent and
that South African and Cuban forces must withdraw from the country.

In 1989, the United Nations Transitions Assistance Group
(UNTAG ) oversaw free elections. Britain contributed to the UNTAG force keeping the peace.

In March 1990 South West Africa became independent as the Republic of Namibia.